HomeNewsNigerian Environmentalist Wins Goldman Environmental Prize

Nigerian Environmentalist Wins Goldman Environmental Prize

A Nigerian environmentalist, Chima Williams has placed Africa on the world map as he joins six other individuals to be named among the winners of this year’s prestigious Goldman Environmental Prize.

Williams won the award based on his work with two Niger Delta communities to hold Royal Dutch Shell accountable for environmental damage caused by a spill from its facilities into the communities between 2004 and 2007.

The Nigerian who is the Executive Director of Environmental Rights Action/Friends of the Earth Nigeria (ERA/FoEN), joined Niwat Roykaew (Thailand), Marjan Minnessma (the Netherlands); Juliet Vincent (Australia); Nalleli Cobo (United States); Alex Luciatante, and Alexandra Narvaez (Ecuador) to receive the honour.

Williams joins an exclusive ‘elite list’ of Nigerians who have received this honour.

The Goldman Prize is awarded annually to environmental heroes from each of the world’s six inhabited continental regions.

“The Goldman Environmental Prize honors the achievements and leadership of grassroots environmental activists from around the world, inspiring all of us to take action to protect our planet”, according to a statement released by the Goldman Environmental Foundation.

Photo Credit: Goldman Prize

The Prize was founded in 1989 in San Francisco by philanthropists and civic leaders: Rhoda and Richard Goldman.

In 33 years, the prize has had an immeasurable impact on the planet. To date, 213 winners have been honoured, including 95 women from 93 nations.

“While the many challenges before us can feel daunting, and at times make us lose faith, these seven leaders give us a reason for hope and remind us what can be accomplished in the face of adversity,” said Jennifer Goldman Wallis, Vice President of the Goldman Environmental Foundation.

He added: “The prize winners show us that nature has the amazing capability to regenerate if given the opportunity. Let us all feel inspired to channel their victories into regenerating our own spirit and act to protect our planet for future generations.”

Williams joins an exclusive ‘elite list’ of Nigerians who have received this honour. A previous Nigerian winner of the Goldman Environmental Prize is Ken Saro-Wiwa, the late playwright and environmentalist who was executed by the Nigerian government in 1995. The Cross River-based environmentalist Odigha Odigha also got the award in 2003 for his work in protecting Nigeria’s remaining rainforests.

Source: premiumtimesng.com

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here